Strength Plateau :(

Yeah, plateaus are lame, and yes, I’m experiencing one. If you’ve been working out for long enough then you probably know as well as I do just how lame plateaus are. That being said, its all about overcoming your plateau. We can’t just give up on our strength goals, We’ve got to keep on moving!

The progress is slow. In the beginning of my training program, my strength gains escalated so quickly through the program that I thought I was going to be able to do one arm chin-ups in only a matter of months. Ugh, was I wrong. I’ve only been able to do 12 chin ups for what feels like months now! It’s such a bummer hitting the gym and not seeing any progress, but I have a plan to overcome this plateau once and for all:

I’m going to change the exercises I’m currently doing with new similar ones (and have some patience)! I recently watched a video explaining how our muscles adapt to certain exercises from repeated performance of that specific exercise and it has a plateau effect on our strength training. However, if we substitute that exercise; for instance chin ups, with say; pull ups then we should hopefully (haven’t tried it yet) see progress in our strength and an end to our strength plateau.

So this is my plan to overcome my current strength plateau and I’ll be sure to give an update on this post to let y’all know how it worked for me! Take care everyone! 🙂

Leave a comment