Deload Week

It’s been awhile since I’ve decided to up the frequency in which I train (4-5 days a week instead of 3-4) and I can definitely say I made some progress, but I hit another plateau. I heard of something called a deload week and it sounds like this will be the next step I’m implementing into my workout routine. For those that don’t know what a deload week is, it’s basically a week of recovery.

I have been working out for about half a year now and still have not had a deload week! The max I’ve taken a day off from my workout has been three days a part on rare occasions. So, as you could imagine, my muscles need a break from so much exercise. I highly encourage anyone who has been training for a long, consistent amount of time (4-6 months) and has ran into a plateau, to try out a deload week to refind your strength gains.

How I will be implementing my deload week will simply be by stretching and increasing my flexibility and by limiting how many lifting or pushing exercises I do. This is how I’m going to perform my deadlift week because I feel like I just need a good recovery from my weeks of intense training and to overcome this new plateau I recently ran into. I’ll keep y’all updated to let you know how I thought of my deload week!

Leave a comment